po polsku   Wersja polska     Prize Board     Prize Fund     Sponsors     Application Form     Witold Lipski  

!!!   Fifteenth edition of the Prize announced   (in Polish)   !!!

Witold Lipski Prize

The Foundation for Information Technology Development in cooperation with the Polish Chapter of ACM and the Polish Information Processing Society following the initiative of a group of Polish computer scientists working abroad has established the Prize for Young Researchers in Computer Science for the best scientific achievements in computer science and its applications. The Prize is named in honor and recognition of Witold Lipski. Eligible candidates should not be older than 30 (32 in case of parental leave) and should be associated with a Polish institution conducting research in computer science (see the Prize regulations).

Provided sufficient funds are available, the Prize is awarded annually, after publishing the Call for Applications by the Prize Board. In particular, the call will be published on the web site of the Prize. The call will contain the deadline (not earlier than two months after the date of call publication) and the date of the announcement of the results (not later than four months after the deadline).

Prize Fund
The Foundation for Information Technology Development has created the Prize Fund to collect donations from private persons and corporations. The account number of the Prize Fund is:

Foundation for Information Technology Development, Banacha 2, 02-097 Warszawa
Bank Address:
Bank Pekao SA, I/O Warszawa, Plac Bankowy 2
Account No (IBAN):
PL88 1240 1037 1111 0000 0691 6945

If you want to make a credit card payment please download the following form (ps, pdf, odt) and fax it to the address mentioned on the form (please make sure that your donation is in Polish złoty (PLN) - for technical reasons we cannot accept credit card payments in foreign currencies).

Prize Board
The Prize is awarded by the Prize Board. The members of the Prize Board, not exceeding ten persons, are nominated by the Board of the Foundation for Computer Science Development for a definite period not longer than three years. Among the members of the board:
  • two persons are appointed by the Polish Chapter of ACM,
  • two persons are appointed by the Polish Information Processing Society,
  • two persons are appointed by the Prize initiators: Krzysztof Apt, Wiktor Marek i Mirosław Truszczyński.

At present, the Prize Board members are: Paweł Idziak, Jan Madey, Zygmunt Mazur, Jerzy Nawrocki, Leszek Pacholski, Marcin Paprzycki, Andrzej Pelc, Piotr Sankowski, Paweł Urzyczyn (chair), Igor Walukiewicz.

On February 1, 2013, the Prize Board passed a resolution which appoints Prof. Andrzej Tarlecki, in recognition of his long standing contribution and multiple services for the Prize, as the Honorary President of the Board. The Honorary President can participate as an advisor in the work of the Board whenever it is not direcly concerned with the selection of the Winner.

Previous editions of the Prize (in Polish)

Application form and Prize regulations (in Polish)

The institutional sponsor is Polish Information Processing Society. The sponsor of the edition 2018 is Atende.

PTI                                           Atende

Many donations come from private persons, mainly Polish computer scientists working abroad.
Thank you !

The secretary of the Prize is Daria Walukiewicz-Chrząszcz.
Additional questions should be addressed to nagroda at mimuw.edu.pl